K-POP! rage

for the hallyu wave you crave

[Girl Group Wars] Top Girl Group Visuals 2015 Edition

Girl Groups - 04

Another year, another update.  Whereas the last update was really just a reshuffle of the order of the original list, this year brings several new faces.  I don’t know if it’s because I’m a year older or if my tastes changed, but even I was kind of surprised at how different this year’s list was.  Just like last year, the arbitrary visual designation does not apply; everyone is eligible.

10. Park Jiyeon(T-ara)
Jiyeon - 01 Jiyeon - 02 Jiyeon - 03
T-ara’s dinosaur maknae took one the biggest tumbles in the rankings compared to last year.  She almost didn’t make the cut, but it would probably be a crime to not mention her when talking about the best looking idols in the industry today. As hot as she is on stage performing, she’s definitely at her best when she’s goofing off with her friends and fellow T-ara members.

9. Irene(Red Velvet)
Irene - 01 Irene - 03 
Irene - 02
The first newcomer on the list is Red Velvet’s leader and rapper, Bae Joohyun.  When Red Velvet first debuted, I thought she was a Taeyeon clone, which is kind of ironic considering that’s whose place she took on this list.  However, I’ve since changed my stance on this and she’s in many ways far more attractive than Tae was in her prime.  I still don’t particularly care for their songs, but I’m looking forward to seeing Irene in the industry over the next few years.

8. Naeun(APink)
Naeun - 01 Naeun - 02 Naeun - 04
As the only member of last year’s list to keep her spot, I’d say that’s pretty good.  I did debate pushing her up one, but I like her at this ranking.  APink’s resident visual continues to shine on and off the stage, and at only 21 years old is just entering her prime.  Nobody will argue she’s the greatest singer in the world, but there are few who look as good as she does.

7. Suzy(miss A)
Suzy - 02 Suzy - 01 SONY DSC
And here’s the winner for the biggest drop in rankings.  I know last year I said she wouldn’t be displaced at the top for a while, but man was I wrong.  Don’t get me wrong, she’s still extremely attractive, but she’s just not the same looker in my mind that she was before.  It could be an exposure thing as she hasn’t been as active this year compared to others.  No matter the reason, I stand by this ranking.

6. Yura(Girls Day)
Yura - 03 Yura - 04 
Yura - 01
The second newcomer on this list can definitely attribute this to her stint on We Got Married.  It also helps that she’s looked electric in the last few music videos.  It’s hard to tell which version I like more: the hot and charismatic rapper when she’s on stage or the pretty goofball she is in her personal selcas.  Let’s just split the difference and say both sides win.

5. Jessica Jung
Jessica - 159 Jessica - 157 Jessica - 158
Thekoreanjjang can cry bias all he wants, I’m still putting the elder Jung on this list at 5.  I realize that she’s technically no longer part of a girl group, but I’m not leaving her off.  Maybe it’s because she can finally get some sleep now, but Sica has looked amazing ever since her ouster from SNSD.  Whether it be Instagram, Weibo, or one of my photoshoots she’s done, I think this may be the best I’ve seen out of her.  She might be on the older end of the spectrum in idol years, but you can’t convince me that she’s not one of the most attractive idols past or present.

4. Song Ji Eun(Secret)
Song Ji Eun - 02 Song Ji Eun - 05 Song Ji Eun - 04
My love of Secret’s main singer is no secret in certain circles.  I’ve always gone back and forth on who was the best looking member of the group, but Jieun’s got a vicegrip on that title now.  I would argue that she’s probably my favorite singer too, and along with her shy personality on variety, she’s the complete package.  She really almost made it into the top 3, but I couldn’t justify her beating out any of those who ranked ahead of her.

3. Eunjung(T-ara)
Eunjung - 04 Eunjung - 09 Eunjung - 07
Granted she dropped from her #2 rank last year, Eunjung to me is still by far one of the most attractive singers in any industry.  She’s been a longtime bias and it kills me a little inside that I haven’t been able to see or hear her live despite being a fan for almost the entire time I’ve listened to Kpop.  Red hair, blond hair, long hair, short hair, she takes every concept and looks absolutely radiant.  You’d think with that type of praise, she’d be first on this list, but she’s stuck at 3 by the slightest of margins.

2. Seolhyun(AoA)
 Seolhyun - 01 Seolhyun - 03 Seolhyun - 05
If there was a dictionary definition of what my type is, Seolhyun’s picture would be right beside it.  She’s the youngest person on the list, but she’s really only made my radar the last year or so.  She was pretty when AoA debuted, but didn’t particularly standout.  Now that she’s hitting her visual prime, she’s exploded up my list, leaving almost everyone else in the dust.  Again, with that kind of praise, you’d think she’d be atop the list, but once again a slightly more deserving candidate won out.

1. Minah(Girls Day)
Minah - 14 Minah - 12 Minah - 13
Initially, I was going to give this spot belonged to Seolhyun, but then “Ring My Bell” got released and it was game over.  I’ve liked Minah for some time now, but this is the best I’ve ever seen her look and it’s not even close.  I dunno if it’s the hair, the additional weight she’s put on, or some other factor that I can only call sorcery, but she managed to hit another level of attractiveness that I didn’t think was possible with her.  Here’s hoping Girls Day makes another appearance in the US so I can see just how radiant she must be in real life.

3 responses to “[Girl Group Wars] Top Girl Group Visuals 2015 Edition

  1. tyn123 February 6, 2016 at 4:24 am

    I am very shock to find I dont agree with your list in so many places.

    Minah has for me dropped out of the top 5 spotswith the debute of Red Velvelt and Twice. Sad to see Nana dropped altogether.

    Exposure really does play a huge role in it as some of the girls that dropped were on hiatus for the year.

    Eunjung will always be love. She shall remain in top 5 comw what may.

  2. kate February 15, 2016 at 10:55 am

    where tf is yoona

  3. John November 22, 2021 at 4:33 am

    Really bad list. And it seems all the commenters agree.

Leave a comment