K-POP! rage

for the hallyu wave you crave

[Girl Group Wars] Top Girl Group Visuals 2014 Edition

Girl Groups 03

It’s been over two years since this post and so I decided to do a quick refresher just because of how popular the old one seemed to be.  The requirement that they be the face of the group was a bit too restrictive, and led to many a debate on comments, so this time I’m opening it up to all members.  So without further ado, here is my current list of the best looking idols.  As always, feel free to post your own list as well.

10. Park Miyeon(Serri) – Dal Shabet

Serri - 01Serri - 02Serri - 03

I know I’m in the minority, but I actually rather liked Dal Shabet’s “Be Ambitious”.  Lyrics aside, I thought it was catchy and the outfits didn’t hurt either.  But what caught my eye the most was their leader Serri.  Arguably their best dancer and singer, she’s the glue that keeps them together and by far the best looking of the group.  Maybe it’s the slight resemblance to my ultimate bias(SNSD”s Jessica), but she looks pretty in any concept and I’m hoping I get to see a performance live someday.

9. Kim Taeyeon – SNSD

Taeyeon - 01Taeyeon - 02Taeyeon - 03
I’ve always been a big fan of SNSD’s leader and Tae’s been one of the few that I think has constantly improved visually as she’s matured.  Sure she has no eyebrows without her makeup on, but I’m not going to complain.  I’m also giving her bonus points for admitting to dating EXO’s Baekhyun because the comment fanwars between EXOtics and SONEs have been absolutely entertaining to read.

8. Son Na Eun – A Pink

Na Eun - 01Na Eun - 02Na Eun - 03
It’s only recently that I’ve gotten on the Na Eun bandwagon, but I wonder how I could have overlooked her for as long as I did.  Eun Ji gets the vast majority of the attention, but A Pink’s visual caught my eye immediately as soon as I started watching them more on variety shows.   I won’t vouch for her singing or dancing abilities, but as a visual she’s one of the best for me.

7. Im Jin Ah(Nana) – After School/Orange Caramel

Nana - 01Nana - 02Nana - 03
Sure picking a former model isn’t exactly a surprise for a list of best looking idols, but Nana’s quickly risen up my rankings over the last two years or so.  Her, Lizzy, and Jooyeon have always vied for best looking member of After School for me, but Nana’s taken sole lead and doesn’t look to be giving it up anytime soon.  Highly versatile visually, she makes anything look good, even the ridiculous Orange Caramel outfits.  One day I hope to see her perform in person as well.

6. Jung Soo Jung(Krystal) – f(x)

Krystal - 01Krystal - 02Krystal - 03
Krystal’s dropped 2 places from the old list, but she’s still one of the best looking idols in the industry.  She’s extremely pretty to begin with, but when she smiles with her teeth, it makes her beauty skyrocket up.  I’m not going to pretend either that she’s not getting the Jessica bump, but she’s still a looker in her own right.  I know in the original post I got blasted by all of Sulli’s fans for calling Krystal the visual, but I apologize for nothing.  In my mind, Krystal is still f(x)’s top visual.

5. Park Jiyeon – T-ara

Jiyeon - 01Jiyeon - 02Jiyeon - 03
Like Krystal, Jiyeon dropped 2 spots from the previous list.  This doesn’t take away from her own beauty, but it’s just an indication of how strong the competition is once I was free to pick from all idols instead of those designated as a visual.  T-ara’s dinosaur maknae has gotten prettier as she has matured and is arguably the most visually versatile idols out there.  One of the few exceptions being the groupmate that came in at second place.

4. Jung Soo Jung(Jessica) – SNSD

Jessica - 01Jessica - 02Jessica - 03
2 years ago, I called Krystal the looker in the family, but I think Jessica’s passed her younger sister at this point.  It’s not that Krystal hasn’t gotten prettier, it’s just that Jessica continues to look better with each passing year.  Chalk it up to my own bias, but the elder Jung makes number 4 on this list.  I’d also like to give a special shoutout to whoever decided to give the Jung sisters their own show because that was a stroke of genius.

3. Bang Minah – Girl’s Day

Minah - 01Minah - 02Minah - 03
Starting with “Expectation”, Girls’ Day has enjoyed a huge surge in popularity.  I wouldn’t say they’re on the same tier as say SNSD and 2NE1, but I would at least put them on par with SISTAR.  It’s during this same period that I’ve also found myself being drawn more and more to Girls Day and their main singer Minah.  I’m not normally drawn to the cute type, but I’ll make an exception for her.  A couple years ago, she was called the ultimate cutie of kpop on another blog, and I’m hard pressed to disagree.

2. Ham Eunjung – T-ara

Eunjung - 01Eunjung - 02Eunjung - 03
I mentioned earlier that Jiyeon was one of the most visually versatile in kpop.  Well, if there’s anyone else in the conversation, here she is.  T-ara’s former leader has always had a special place on my bias list and currently sits #2 behind Jessica.  Finding the right three pictures to capture her essence was impossible so I had to cut myself off after a certain period of time that will remain untold.  I’ve missed out on a couple chances to see her in person, but here’s hoping that it’ll happen one day.

1.  Bae Sue Ji(Suzy) – miss A

Suzy - 01Suzy - 04Suzy - 03
Suzy not only is the only person from the first list who kept her old position, but two years later she’s still to me the best looking idol in kpop.  Jessica/Eunjung/Minah might be personal biases, but I can’t argue that they’re better looking than Suzy with a straight face.  Another one of the ridiculously broken 94 line, with Krystal and Na Eun among others, Suzy has just gotten more and more beautiful with each passing year.  She won’t hold this title with me forever, but I don’t see that happening for years to come.

21 responses to “[Girl Group Wars] Top Girl Group Visuals 2014 Edition

  1. Anonymous July 7, 2014 at 3:18 am

    Love your list. For me Suzy No 1 also.

  2. Anonymous August 21, 2014 at 5:41 am

    Naeun should be at least top 5

  3. Anonymous September 17, 2014 at 10:08 pm

    Suzy no. 1 for me also

  4. Anonymous September 19, 2014 at 1:35 pm

    f(x) Visual is Sulli and f(x) Krystal is the maknae

  5. Anonymous September 21, 2014 at 2:29 am

    For me no.1 is Yoona because even if she doesn’t have any make-up she’s still beautiful and Yoona is the visual of SNSD and Taeyeon is the leader but at I respect your opinion. I’m just giving my own opinion……

  6. Shadel Silvestre October 8, 2014 at 11:39 pm

    Suzy & Jiyeon (TOP VISUALS then and now) forever and ever

  7. tieuyeunu December 21, 2014 at 1:27 am

    I agree with your list almost entirely bar your personal bias, though if judge based purely on visuals and no bias I would have cut your list down to…

    1. Bae Su Ji (Suzy)
    2. Park Ji Yeon
    3. Jung Soo Jung (Krystal)
    4. Son Na Eun
    5. Im Jin Ah (Nana)
    6. Bang Min Ah

    I’m afraid I never saw the Yoona appeal so I don’t find her on the same level as the ‘beauties’ of Kpop. But the girl has a very likable aura so I would have put her on a list if ‘bias’ was taken into consideration.

  8. stellarbeybs January 10, 2015 at 6:03 am

    I’m okay with Suzy, Jung Sis, Taeng, Nana and Jiyeon 🙂 where is YoonA? 🙂

  9. kpopper February 24, 2015 at 4:59 am

    I think I aggree with this list. They are really gorgeous. But now, 2015. I have my Top 10 too. 😉
    1. Dara Park (2NE1)
    2. Bae Suzy (Miss A)
    3. Im Yoon Ah (SNSD)
    4. Im Nana (Afterschool)
    5. Choi Sulli (F(x))
    6. Bae Irene (Red Velvet)
    7. Shin Hyejeong (AOA)
    8. Kim Dasom (Sistar)
    9. Kim Yura (Girls Day)
    10. Kang Seulgi (Red Velvet)

    THIS IS MY PERSONAL OPINION SLASH CHOICE 🙂
    Gomawo~ ❤

  10. Feithful April 30, 2015 at 8:03 am

    Suzy,my love *o*
    I would put there Fei also.She is perfect!

  11. Becca June 22, 2015 at 12:26 pm

    Nana did surgery on her eyelids though…she used to be a monolid but now she has double. Some people say it’s tape but I don’t know :/

  12. Pingback: [Girl Group Wars] Top Girl Group Visuals 2015 Edition | K-POP! rage

  13. SURAINE September 29, 2016 at 8:03 am

    MASS MAGANDA SI NAEUN

  14. SURAYA September 29, 2016 at 8:12 am

    MOST BEAUTIFUL

    1.NAEUN(APINK)
    2.YOONA(SNSD)
    3.SANDARA(2NE1)
    4.DAHYUN(TWICE)
    5.IREN(RED VELVET)
    6.ROSE(BLOCK PINK)
    7.

Leave a Reply

