K-POP! rage

for the hallyu wave you crave

[Random Rants] SM Town LA 2012 Retrospective

Last night I had the privilege of having floor seats for SM Town 2012 in Anaheim, and man what a concert that was.  My ears are even still ringing a little bit from it.

Having gone to SM Town 2011 in New York, I was a tad worried going in that it was going to be a similar lineup, but I was glad to find out that I was wrong in that regard.  Of course, every group played their standard hits, but the collaboration songs and special stages were all different.  I’d have to say that I enjoyed this one more, if for nothing else I had much better seats.  It’s a shame though that Suju was missing Siwon(filming a drama), and Heechul(military).  SNSD was also missing Yuri and Yoona due to filming their dramas “Fashion King” and “Love Rain”.

One of the biggest differences this year was EXO’s participation, whereas last year had Kangta.  That’s one area where last year had the advantage for me.  It’s nothing necessarily against EXO, but I feel like the boy groups were over-represented with SHINee and TVXQ.  I’ll admit though that I think EXO did get the loudest cheers of the night.  Of course that could just be the section I was in lol.  I’d never listened to EXO before and it was interesting to see the difference between EXO-K and EXO-M.  Of the two, I definitely preferred the sound of EXO-K.

Another thing that I noticed was a bigger disparity between the amount of songs sung by the guys(TVXQ, Suju, SHINee, and EXO) compared to the girls(BoA, SNSD, f(x)).  F(x) had at least one less stage, as I know they performed La Cha Ta in SM, but not here.  This actually isn’t a negative though just because it makes sense given that the guys have newer songs.  EXO just made their debut so of course they’re going to showcase them.  SHINee just released “Sherlock”, and Super Junior’s Eunhyuk and Donghae sang “Oppa Oppa”.  I like both songs and both were pretty entertaining performances.  I was glad to see TaeTiSeo perform “Twinkle” at least.  I was hoping for “Baby Steps” as well, but “Twinkle” was definitely the one performance that I was looking forward to seeing.

Speaking of the collaborations, the ones this year blew last year out of the water.  BoA performed her song “One Dream” from Kpop Star with SHINee’s Key and EXO’s Kris, I believe.  TVXQ’s Changmin and Super Junior’s Kyuhyun treated one lucky fan girl to their rendition of Bruno Mars’ “Just the Way You Are”.  Was definitely laughing at how she just looked at Changmin the whole time though and only looked at Kyuhyun when he had his solo parts lol.  I was also impressed with Luna and Onew’s cover of “Can I Have This Dance”.  One of my favorite acts of the night was definitely the Jung sisters Jessica and Krystal’s cover of “California Gurls”.  If you read this blog regularly, you know both are my personal biases, and it was a step up from “Tic Tok” last year.  The dress that Jessica wore was absolutely hideous though.  This would have been my favorite act if not for Super Junior performing “Oops” with f(x).  That is my absolute favorite song for Super Junior and I don’t believe that they’ve ever performed this live with f(x).  I know they did it once with Tiffany, but it was much better with Krystal, Sulli, and Victoria out there.  It absolutely made my night to see them perform this.

The highlight of the night though came at the end when all of SM’s performers came out on the extended stage.  All bets were off for seating at that point so I made my way to the railings and managed to get hand slaps from Sooyoung and Sunny as they ran by.  That wasn’t the best part, though.  The absolute, 100%, best part of the night came slightly after that when somehow I got Jessica’s attention and made eye contact with her, as well as getting a smile and a wave.  She was standing with Taeyeon and Seohyun and randomly decided to turn around.  It felt like my heart stopped for a second and I couldn’t believe that it happened, even as I was driving back home afterwards.   I really wish I could’ve gotten a good picture, but arena security was incredibly anal about bringing in cameras.  At any rate, it’s still a moment that I definitely won’t soon forget.

All in all, it was a pretty special night and SM definitely knows how to throw a concert.  Not that it needs mentioning, but I highly recommend going to SM Town if you ever get the chance.  Now if only I could get that American T-ara concert…

3 responses to “[Random Rants] SM Town LA 2012 Retrospective

  1. alfindah May 24, 2012 at 6:06 am

    wooow what a great moment 🙂 u must be so happy that night… i always want to watch it but sm town never come to my country 😥

  2. Anonymous September 19, 2012 at 1:17 am

    I’m going to have to go to Sm town LA even tho i live in NY .I did go to SM Town NYC and i have to say i’m kinda upset .When i look at all the other concerts NYC to me got the crappiest one . I loved seeing all the artists but i mean all the little things like the special stages like SM LA . I have a feeling SM will not be coming back to NY so LA it is .

  3. Pingback: SNSD/Girls’ Generation | Hyena Harmony Official Site

Leave a Reply

