K-POP! rage

for the hallyu wave you crave

Song Battle Round 4: Hot Summer vs Touch

The fourth song battle between our two groups compare their latest songs: f(x)’s Hot Summer vs miss A’s “Touch”.

Thekoreanjjang:         Now onto hot summer vs touch?

KpopEncarta:               Yep.

vs

KpopEncarta:             I really liked the Hot Summer MV haha.  All the visuals in this are spot on.

Thekoreanjjang:         A pink tank?!

KpopEncarta:               hahaha

Thekoreanjjang:         A hot pink striped one no less.

KpopEncarta:               Of course.

Thekoreanjjang:         The visuals are on point as you said.

KpopEncarta:               Man, Krystal looks fantastic.  In terms of visuals, this is all 5 members at their absolute best.  I like the song too.  It’s catchy; a good followup for their danger promotions

Thekoreanjjang:         You can definitely see a bit of a bounce in their step.  A confidence they might not have had before their danger promotions.

KpopEncarta:               It’s also a bit more upbeat than their other songs.

Thekoreanjjang:         Yeah its a catchy tune and an interesting one to follow up danger with…then you have miss A with a song that completely contrasts the bright upbeat hot summer with their darker tone.

KpopEncarta:               lol

Thekoreanjjang:         It sucks not having a live performance of this song yet.

KpopEncarta:               That Egyptian dance at the beginning is so weird.

Thekoreanjjang:         Their new MV “Touch” is  my favorite song so far this year. I really am curious to see how their rose dance will play out on their comeback stage.  One of the comments I read said miss A was spelling out their name during that early sequence, but I had trouble seeing it.  But I wasn’t particularly impressed with their choreography as a whole in this song.  while it was interesting in the beginning, I felt it tailed off during the middle and end.  What I WAS impressed with was their complete immersion in the rose theme throughout their MV.

KpopEncarta:               It is a very well done MV.

Thekoreanjjang:         Their lyrics, outfits, and overall theme was captured really well.

KpopEncarta:               You can tell alot of thought went into it.

Thekoreanjjang:         Yeah its not something you notice when you watch it for the first time.  Plus you know me, I like to think a little when I watch a MV.  Hot summer just showed me a pink tank with a catchy beat going “hot summer” over and over.

KpopEncarta:               Min looks pretty good with longer hair.

Thekoreanjjang:         I loved the kaleidoscope effect in the beginning too.  Don’t you feel that the opening has a sort of hypnotic effect on you?  I also liked how they didn’t inject any unnecessary rap lines into this MV.

KpopEncarta:               Eh, i thought the whole intro was weird.

Thekoreanjjang:         Too many times some groups just awkwardly throw in rap lines into a perfectly good song.  Kills it for me. I know there’s a few rap lines in their actual CD version of “Touch”, but I’m glad the MV didn’t include them.

KpopEncarta:               Like CCM? haha

Thekoreanjjang:         Without naming names!!  Lets have a little respect for the man with the alleged Midas touch. I say that half seriously of course.  Back on topic.

KpopEncarta:               He did produce sg wannabe, t-ara, davichi, but yeah back to Touch.  You really have 2 contrasting styles here.

Thekoreanjjang:         One of the very first thoughts I had when I listened to touch was wow JYP is pretty damn talented I never heard a song like this before.  With hot summer I thought wow a pretty catchy beat and fun song, but something I feel like I’ve heard before.  Therein lies the problem for me.  I don’t want to go as far as saying Touch has more originality, but I like it when groups try to go out of their comfort zone and try out new styles.  I didn’t see any risk here with hot summer especially as a song following danger.

KpopEncarta:               True.  I’m giving this round to miss A.  As you said, it’s something different than we’re used to hearing, and i feel more thought was put into the MV.  though visuals i def give to hot summer

Thekoreanjjang:         Yup, but taking note of their whole performance I have to give it to miss A. Which leaves me at 5-3 miss A going into the final round.

KpopEncarta:               Tie ballgame for me.

Previous Battle: Nu Abo vs Bad Girl, Good Girl

Final Battle: Danger vs Goodbye Baby

3 responses to “Song Battle Round 4: Hot Summer vs Touch

  1. Anonymous April 12, 2015 at 12:19 am

    f(x) is a more well known grp compared to miss a. krystal, sulli are far more beautiful than suzy, amber and luna’s singing skill are good. victoria’s dancing skills are good too. Miss a can’t be compared wif f(x)

  2. Feithful April 30, 2015 at 7:51 am

    F(x) can’t be compared with Miss A.As a group miss A is better than f(x).Suzy is more beautiful than Krystal and Sulli,and Fei is more beautiful than all girls from f(x) together.And Jia is better,and Min is better.It’s just my opinion.Problems?I don’t mind if it’ll make f(x) fans hurt.

Leave a Reply

