K-POP! rage

for the hallyu wave you crave

[Best of the Best] Top 5 Drama OSTs from 2011

While not actively promoted on the weekly music shows, OSTs from dramas that air through the year garner almost as many downloads on the various music portals.  Often times, I find I enjoy these songs more than those released as part of an album.  Here I will discuss 5 such OSTs that made my music playlist in 2011.

*Special Note*  Baek Ji Young’s “That Woman” from Secret Garden would have made this list, but it was technically released in 2010 and as such will not be counted.

5.  Because of Me(Sign) – Krystal(fx)

This song marks Krystal’s first solo OST release, having done 3 prior OSTs with her f(x) members for Invincible Lee Pyung Kang, God of Study, Cinderella Sister.  I’ve always been a fan of Krystal from the start, and I was impressed with the range she showed in this song.  Though not the vocal equal of her sister, Jessica from SNSD, she still displays impressive control and power for only being 17.  Her potential is evident in this song, and already she is lead vocalist for her own group.  I look forward to hearing her grow as a vocalist and anticipate any future solos she might release.  Listen to it here.

4.  You’ve Fallen for me(Heartstrings) – Jung Yong Hwa(CN Blue)

Yong Hwa has been one of my favorite singers since I heard him sing for the You’re Beautiful OST.  When I heard that he was going to star in Heartstrings, I knew I could anticipate another great OST from him, and he did not disappoint.  His unique voice perfectly accompanies the quick tempo and rock influences of the song.  Though I was not a fan of the drama itself, this song definitely stuck with me as one of the best OSTs of the year.  Listen to it here.

3.  Unstoppable Tears(Romance Town – Jessica(SNSD)

Though other members of SNSD have previously released their own solo OSTs, this was Jessica’s first time to shine on her own. I’ll be the first to admit that she’s my bias, and this is one of the songs that I was really looking forward to in 2011.  She definitely met my expectations here and shows why she’s acknowledged as one of the best female voices in the industry.  You can feel the sorrowful emotions of the song’s lyrics conveyed through Jessica’s delicate voice.  Taeyeon, absolutely deserves to be main vocal in SNSD, but Jessica once again proves she why she is just as deserving of that title.  Listen to it here

2.  Dream High Main Theme – Dream High Cast

Honestly, this is more a pick for all the OSTs for this drama as I enjoyed them all.  My favorite of them, though, was the main theme that interwove all the voices of the cast together.  IU’s sweet and powerful voice, combined with Taecyon’s rap and the supporting vocals from the rest of the cast create a song that easily ranks as one of my favorite songs, OST or otherwise, of the year.  The cast even held a special concert to commemorate the drama as a thank you to fans.  Watch the performances here: Main theme IU – Someday Sunye(Wonder Girls) – Maybe Suzy/Eunjung – Winter’s Child

1.  Because it’s You(Man of Honor) – Hyorin(SISTAR)

This song caught me completely by surprise, and is the reason why I’m now a fan of Hyorin.  I had always heard that she was a great singer, but I had never listened to her sing until this OST.  The power of her husky voice is clearly evident in this song as she skillfully portrays the lyrics of the song.  It’s a shame her talents are almost wasted singing the songs that SISTAR puts out.  Hyorin’s completely irreplaceable as the voice of her group, but their songs do not let her display her true ability to its fullest.  She’s clearly capable of so much more, and I will continue to look forward to any future solo activities she might have.  Listen to it here

3 responses to “[Best of the Best] Top 5 Drama OSTs from 2011

  1. swanmyat3 May 10, 2012 at 9:47 am

    Love dream high.But I don’t know others.

  2. Muhd Shazili May 19, 2012 at 10:37 am

    heartstrings is such an awesome drama,,with a lot of nice song..

  3. Vine July 4, 2013 at 12:23 am

    yay! Dream high! 🙂

Leave a Reply

