K-POP! rage

for the hallyu wave you crave

Dance Performance Round 3: Hoot vs Cry Cry (Final Round)

 

KpopEncarta:           And here is it.  Final round.

Thekoreanjjang:     SHAAAT.  Final round.

KpopEncarta:           all tied up

Thekoreanjjang:     I can’t believe we actually tied going into this.  I was surprisingly honest with my picks this whole time.  I didn’t imagine it would play out this way. I thought SNSD would have a decent size lead going into the last round.

KpopEncarta:           I think it’s interesting that while we didn’t agree with each other for each decision we’re still tied lol

Thekoreanjjang:     hahaha indeed.

KpopEncarta:           okay so

Thekoreanjjang:     You were even mildly civil during my Boram rant.

KpopEncarta:           hoot vs cry cry

Thekoreanjjang:     SHOOT.  This is what I’ve been waiting for.  I have both!

KpopEncarta:           you have them both right

Thekoreanjjang:     ROFL.

KpopEncarta:           or should I give you hoot

Thekoreanjjang:     Of course you would know.

KpopEncarta:           just making sure lol

Thekoreanjjang:     Naw I have both of these amazing performances.  I need about 10 minutes or more with this one. Seriously when they came out with cry cry that was one of my best moments as a fan because I could just tell this would be a surefire hit.  Still they had to compete with some monster comeback stages.

KpopEncarta:           lol yeah.  snsd, wg, and IU…they never had a chance.  Here you go anyway

vs

Thekoreanjjang:     Hoot first.  Dang we’re off to a great start huh?

KpopEncarta:           cowgirls, holy shit

Thekoreanjjang:     Man I don’t even want to image the sort of diet and exercise regime they had to maintain for this comeback.

KpopEncarta:           they were so toned for this.  right?!

Thekoreanjjang:     Still they did a great job as they look amazing in their live performances.

KpopEncarta:           man I haven’t seen this one in a while either.  sica geezus

Thekoreanjjang:     Going to be another tough judgement call!

KpopEncarta:           they’re so in sync with each other, it’s unreal

Thekoreanjjang:     In all honesty this is probably my 2nd favorite SNSD song after Gee.  It’s pretty hilarious that Jessica trips into Hyoyeon and they don’t skip a beat.

KpopEncarta:           lol yeah they just laugh it off

Thekoreanjjang:     Hyoyeon has that sly smile too as she gets in position behind her.

KpopEncarta:           and continue like pros!!

Thekoreanjjang:     Jessica could have rolled them million dollar ankles!!  Man I keep forgetting that Tiffany was on the sidelines for part of these promotions.

KpopEncarta:           lol

Thekoreanjjang:     Major props to Seohyun’s solo ad lib!  Alright onto Cry Cry!

KpopEncarta:           I watched the one with fany first.  I’ll prob have to rewatch yours on review

Thekoreanjjang:     Holy mother Cry Cry!  I haven’t watched in a while.  Their in pure performance mode.  I love how T-ara can make this style look so sexy.  I’ve always felt that the music studios were a lot more lax on SNSD’s outfits than on the other groups.

KpopEncarta:           I like the alternating pants and shorts

Thekoreanjjang:     I remember when T-ara had to wear those ridiculous stockings during their Yayaya promotions…oh man well those promotions weren’t their better days.

KpopEncarta:           yeah…

Thekoreanjjang:     Yet SNSD got to wear their super short shorts…wait why am I complaining about this? Forget I even said anything.

KpopEncarta:           jiyeon slide!!!!

Thekoreanjjang:      Boram solo! Jiyeon’s  DEEP IN YOUR EYES! So good.

KpopEncarta:           I still never understood why the switch to red and then back to white…

Thekoreanjjang:     They might as well if their filming multiple stages. But yeah editors are just feeling clever…

KpopEncarta:           but yes.  Jiyeon. deep in your eyes. holy crap

Thekoreanjjang:     Haha Qri doesn’t seem so shy when shes on stage. Like changing into another person.

KpopEncarta:           qri finale omg

Thekoreanjjang:     How to pick a winner…

KpopEncarta:           soooo hot

Thekoreanjjang:     I gotta watch cry cry one more time.  With the outfits that SNSD was wearing of course your gonna love their performance, but I really enjoy the complexity of cry cry’s performance and song in general.  Its awesome!

KpopEncarta:           meh, t-ara’s outfits were pretty damn hot.  I’d call it a draw

Thekoreanjjang:     Their was some nice improvement in Jiyeon’s vocals as well.

KpopEncarta:           I’m rewatching your hoot perf sans fany version

Thekoreanjjang:     I’m re-watching Cry Cry.

KpopEncarta:           m countdown cry cry was pretty damn good if you want to use that as another reference

Thekoreanjjang:     They looked great in black as well.

KpopEncarta:           yep

Thekoreanjjang:     Man I’m pretty sad that T-ara’s January concert got postponed. That was literally the only time I had free left in Cali before I had to leave again. At least you got to go to the SM Town concert in NY.

KpopEncarta:           lol

Thekoreanjjang:     That must have been a great concert too. There’s so many SM artists I wanna see perform live. I haven’t seen BoA perform since the very first Korean Music Festival!

KpopEncarta:           ponytail yoona.  wow

Thekoreanjjang:     Yoona does looks pretty amazing in that.

KpopEncarta:           shit koreanjjang I don’t know anymore

Thekoreanjjang:     Sigh.  I’m feeling like a tie rite now, but it would be such a cop out for our readers!

KpopEncarta:           no tie.  this is it!! the final showdown to the death

Thekoreanjjang:     Can I call for a super friend sub round?

KpopEncarta:           no IU damn it

Thekoreanjjang:     DAMN YOU.

KpopEncarta:           this ain’t millionaire, no lifelines

Thekoreanjjang:     I need more IU content why aren’t we covering her more?

KpopEncarta:           hah

Thekoreanjjang:      Fine going to watch Hoot once more then cry cry and then have my verdict

KpopEncarta:           yeah I just finished hoot so now I’m watching black cry cry

You can have ballad version and normal.  Omg.  black cry cry.  how are you so hot

Thekoreanjjang:     GD did Sica have to wink?

KpopEncarta:           hell yes she did

KpopEncarta:           omg.  qri closeup on finish

Thekoreanjjang:     One thing I really loved about Cry Cry was their return a fiercer concept instead of just one with an addicting beat. Yayaya is a good example of CCM’s many hiccups with temporary insanity. Man loving their M! Countdown outfits.

KpopEncarta:           hyomin is so toned, damn.  nice legs too

Thekoreanjjang:     I think Eunjung was injured during these promotions too damn. Everyone’s always injured, these companies should let the girls rest more damn it!

KpopEncarta:           yeah she was for this one, fell off the horse

KpopEncarta:           I’m rewatching hoot again

Thekoreanjjang:     I was seriously ready to give it to snsd, but that deep in your eyes.  Damn hard to decide.

KpopEncarta:           omg yuri’s little look before they all turn around

KpopEncarta:           Sicaa.  Shit

Thekoreanjjang:     I need to watch hoot again.  so no ties rite…

KpopEncarta:           no ties

Thekoreanjjang:     Bastard.

KpopEncarta:           To the death!!  How about this: I’ll give you hats hoot.  You saw 2 versions of cry cry, you should watch 2 version of hoot

Thekoreanjjang:     Fine, though I already have the best version…I’ll see the damn cowboy hat one you love so much.

KpopEncarta:

We’ve pretty much concluded that white cry cry is an even match with one thing of hoot

Thekoreanjjang:     With her hair like this and her pale skin…Fany kind of looks like Park Bom from 2ne1.

KpopEncarta:           So black cry cry vs the other version of hoot.  I have no idea how 2ne1 looks.

Thekoreanjjang:     It’s nice seeing a version with all the members though.

KpopEncarta:           Actually I have a vague idea of Sandara Park

Thekoreanjjang:     Man your such an uncultured beast. 2ne1 is legit bro go check their work out. We should do secret vs 2ne1 next time.

KpopEncarta:           Why do you want to see 2NE1 get slaughtered?

Thekoreanjjang:     This crazy guy. Oh man these fan girls are loud in the background. They do sure love their Sunny.

KpopEncarta:           lol

Thekoreanjjang:     The amazing thing is its usually pretty difficult to hear idols when they have those small yellow mics on. I’ve watched plenty of lives and no one sounds as good as Snsd with those on.  With the boy groups a lot of times it comes off  all thready.

KpopEncarta:           lol

Thekoreanjjang:     Granted they are dancing and rapping more…no easy feat to do at the same time.

KpopEncarta:           yeah…

Thekoreanjjang:     Tae absolutely KILLS it with that little microphone.

KpopEncarta:           SNSD vocals during live perfs is pretty ridiculous.

Thekoreanjjang:     if she had a mic, she’d really kill it

KpopEncarta:           Okay I think I’ve made my decision.

Thekoreanjjang:     It comes as a surprise for me, but I gotta give the definitive win to SNSD. Their just too talented top to bottom and they’ve had a ridiculous string of great hits. I was a bit disappointed with their Boy’s comeback, but overall they’ve never really let me down with their music.

KpopEncarta:           Really.  I give it to t-ara…5.0-4.999999999999999

Thekoreanjjang:     Lets just say i’ll give it to SNSD around that sort of margin.  Cry Cry was really good don’t get me wrong.

KpopEncarta:           Cry Cry is hotness personified.

Thekoreanjjang:     BUT Snsd went all out with their hoot comeback.

KpopEncarta:           True.

Thekoreanjjang:     It was a bad matchup too.  Hoot is one of my favorite tracks, but Cry Cry was getting up there as well.  Just a tough round all around.  If it was a different song then maybe there would have been a different outcome and ending. In the end their arrow dance just did it for me.

KpopEncarta:           Arrow dance was pretty damn hot too, and all 9 doing it together omg.

Thekoreanjjang:     yeah

KpopEncarta:           Sica’s little solo too.

Thekoreanjjang:     It was a good battle. Before they started their Roly Poly promotions this sorta debate wouldn’t even be remotely feasible.  It shows how many strides T-ara has made in the past year, but SNSD is still the gold standard of the K-pop world. T-ara is moving on up the tiers, but SNSD is still sitting at the top of the throne. SNSD wins by my count 7-6!

KpopEncarta:           T-ara takes it by a hair by my count.  Honestly though, there were so many close ones that I could’ve gone either way.  I kind of regret my picks of I Go Crazy for You and Hwayoung, which would’ve made the score 8:5 in favor of SNSD, but I’m fine with picking T-ara 7:6.   As a whole, SNSD is definitely the gold standard as you say, but T-ara definitely belongs up in the upper echelon of girl groups.

Previous Battle: Mr Taxi vs Why are you Being Like This?

19 responses to “Dance Performance Round 3: Hoot vs Cry Cry (Final Round)

  1. najwa ♥ qri June 28, 2012 at 12:36 pm

    cry cry !!!!
    i love t-ara and i love cry cry ^___^

  2. Anonymous August 13, 2012 at 1:38 am

    i love snsd
    snsd fighting

  3. seohyun August 14, 2012 at 4:03 am

    SNSD WILL BE FOREVER! I HATE T-ARA!

    SO SNSD! GO GO GO FIGHTING!

    • Anonymous January 26, 2013 at 6:12 pm

      Y do u hate T-ara. Is it because their SNSD’s competition. Any way T-ara is 10x better when it comes to looks and rappers and dancers and acting then snsd.

      • Anonymous May 23, 2013 at 11:43 pm

        Y would u hate people u don’t even know. How would u feel if someone said that to u? Seriously just learn to love these two wonderful talent full groups images kpop without them

    • Anonymous July 16, 2014 at 7:16 pm

      sr… but SNSD can’t live 4ever

  4. Princess Sunny January 20, 2013 at 5:44 am

    Yeah,,, So Nyeo Shi Dae Inmida
    SNSD + 9 Angels = The Best in The World

  5. Anonymous January 26, 2013 at 6:16 pm

    I hate cow girls like SNSD, and T-ara cry cry is way better in vocals and dance it’s catcher and T-ara looks way better than SNSD.

  6. ruby_yoongie_myheart April 9, 2013 at 11:39 pm

    hoot no.1 , so nyuh shi dae in my heart

  7. Anonymous April 10, 2013 at 4:17 am

    T-ara là nhất

  8. Anonymous April 10, 2013 at 6:02 am

    Queen là đĩnh nhất haha tui yêu queen :*

  9. Anonymous April 12, 2013 at 12:53 am

    T-Ara…Queen’s love T-Ara
    T-Ara is forever
    ♥soyeon♥jiyeon♥hyomin♥qri♥boram♥eunjung♥areum♥
    ♥♥♥

  10. Anonymous April 13, 2013 at 6:41 pm

    SONE FOREVER!!! Hoot

  11. ishak April 15, 2013 at 11:21 am

    cry cry !!!!
    i love t-ara and i love cry cry ^___^

  12. t-ara the best March 11, 2015 at 4:51 pm

    Cry cry can’t you see the music 😍😍😍

  13. Anonymous March 11, 2015 at 7:03 pm

    Yes tara may have less vote then snsd but t Ra will always be ny number one groupe

  14. Anonymous April 23, 2016 at 1:38 pm

    T.ara fighting cry cry fighting

  15. HyominShipperForever August 7, 2016 at 3:58 am

    I love them both! T-ara is my bias but have you seen the friendship between the two groups?

    T-Generation FIGHTING!!

Leave a Reply

