K-POP! rage

for the hallyu wave you crave

Member Battle Round 5: Seohyun vs Hwayoung (Maknaes)

Thekoreanjjang:     Man snsd appears to be owning t-ara by your count…regardless we trudge on.  Round 5! The maknaes!

KpopEncarta:           Top end, I always figured T-ara would lose

Thekoreanjjang:     oy oy.

KpopEncarta:           But overall it’s playing out like I thought.

Thekoreanjjang:     Its neither the time nor place for that sass yet.

KpopEncarta:           lol okay.  Maknae battle.

Thekoreanjjang:     Another tough one, especially given Hwayoung’s relatively short time as a member of T-ara. However, she has made great strides within the group since her debut.

KpopEncarta:           Obviously hwayoung can’t vocally compete with seohyun even if you account for rapping

Thekoreanjjang:     True.

KpopEncarta:           Seohyun’s singing still trumps her

Thekoreanjjang:     Still, Hwayoung has made her way up into the main rapper position within t-ara as Eunjung’s increasing schedule has decreased her rapping influence in their latest promotions. Hwayoung has basically gobbled up all the rapping  parts that Eunjung and Hyomin used to cover.

KpopEncarta:           Yeah but that’s because Eunjung is always out. It’s by necessity…

Thekoreanjjang:     But I also think that Hwayoungs has a higher natural dance ability than Seohyun.

KpopEncarta:           But she’s def taking full advantage

Thekoreanjjang:     Especially feel wise and the way she can express herself during their performances.

KpopEncarta:           agreed

Thekoreanjjang:     I feel like Seohyun memorizes and performs her dance routine for perfection. This makes for a slightly unnatural performance during lives. Not so much a robot, but her dance routine could definitely benefit from a little more soul in her delivery.

KpopEncarta:           Seohyun isn’t a dancer, she learns the motions

Thekoreanjjang:     True, she just learns the moves and executes them well.  Although Hwayoung is a great dancer, I can’t speak  much on her variety sense.  I’ve only seen a handful of her clips, but I’ve seen plenty of the straight laced maknae from snsd.

KpopEncarta:           so many wgm moments

Thekoreanjjang:     Her beauty has really been blossoming this past year. Plus her piano skills and vocal talent push her over the edge for me.

KpopEncarta:           She’s becoming really pretty, true

Thekoreanjjang:     I can’t see Hwayoung beating Seohyun just yet.  She’s too new and too young.  Maybe in the future she could catch up.  Seohyun has changed a lot in the past year or so.  She has really fleshed out her identity for the fans as well through her wgm stint.

KpopEncarta:           Hwayoung I think is a more natural beauty whereas Seohyun is more elegant.

Thekoreanjjang:     I agree, esp given her Park Shin Hye resemblance.  She has more of the girl next door look.

KpopEncarta:           Honestly for me, I like Hwayoung more than Seohyun.

Thekoreanjjang:     Your freaking crazy.

KpopEncarta:           Hwayoung seems more prankster.  Look at her reaction to this compared to the other members.

Thekoreanjjang:     Although I’d love to toss some more points over to t-ara…you know me and I can’t for for the previous reasons I’ve listed.  Hwayoung has the potential to rise for sure. You know…I feel a little guilty now over how much we used to mock her before her debut. I really thought t-ara had no use for an extra member, but I’m glad she’s proven me wrong.

KpopEncarta:           haha

Thekoreanjjang:     Still, Seohyun is leaps and bounds ahead of Hwayoung in terms of being a complete idol. I say Seohyun wins it 5.0 to 4.5 for me.

KpopEncarta:           At relative stages of their careers…

Thekoreanjjang:     for a 2-3 edge to snsd.

KpopEncarta:           Hwayoung is ahead.

Thekoreanjjang:     I’m not using that comparison though.  If we were doing that I’m sure Hwayoung might have a better chance, but that’s not how I think.   2-3! What’s your count at?

KpopEncarta:           2-3 in favor of SNSD.  Hwayoung and Eunjung won their matchups

Previous Battle: Farmer Soonkyu vs Folding Screen Hyomin

Next Battle: Black Pearl Yuri vs Cutie-Pretty Qri

17 responses to “Member Battle Round 5: Seohyun vs Hwayoung (Maknaes)

  1. lesilie March 11, 2012 at 4:12 pm

    Seororo! Not too fond of Hwayoung ever since her nip slip, a great treat for fanboys but whether it was accidental or not, it was tasteless.

  2. tokkigirl August 25, 2012 at 7:09 am

    My vote’s for Seohyun even though Hwayoung does resemble Park Shin Hye (my favorite korean actress)

  3. Alina January 6, 2013 at 1:22 pm

    SEOHYUN!
    I love hwayoung too but seohyun’s just soo… perfect.

  4. Princess Sunny January 20, 2013 at 5:18 am

    ah… Battle Maknaes
    I Love SeoHyunie, she is perfect girl

  5. Anonymous January 26, 2013 at 5:39 pm

    I prefer Hwayoung because with long hair she looks cute and with medium shortish hair ( in day by day) she looks really pretty. Hwayoung is not the youngest she was born in April, it was Jiyeon who was born in June. Now it’s Areum.

  6. Anon February 20, 2013 at 9:32 pm

    Seohyun is flawless

  7. Anonymous March 7, 2013 at 6:37 pm

    seohyun is the best !

  8. Anonymous March 7, 2013 at 6:37 pm

    seohyun is the best !!!

  9. Anonymous April 9, 2013 at 7:13 pm

    Hwayoung she’s awesome

  10. Anonymous April 10, 2013 at 4:17 am

    Hwa Young, Hwa Young, only Hwa Young
    Love T-ara

  11. Anonymous April 10, 2013 at 4:18 am

    Hwa Young

  12. Anonymous April 10, 2013 at 9:55 pm

    I love Seohyun

  13. Anonymous June 1, 2013 at 7:57 pm

    Hwayoung is not a maknae s of t ara it’s jiyeon

  14. nabella January 27, 2014 at 11:33 pm

    absolutely, i will choose seohyun.. she is my bias<3

  15. Anonymous December 22, 2014 at 5:09 pm

    Yah, Seohyun!!!!

Leave a Reply

